The High Schools of DeLand Sports Hall of Fame, sponsored by the DeLand Kiwanis Club, has named six new honorees.

Four athletes were selected by the 15 member committee along with one booster and one who served as an athlete, booster and coach.

They will be inducted Friday, Nov. 1, at halftime of the DeLand/Seabreeze football game in "Spec" Martin Stadium in DeLand.

Honorees are Dr. Dennis Anderson, Wayne Anderson, Storm Walker Kazmierczak, Rodney Langston, Mitch Moyer and Kathy Quackenbush. Five of the six are graduates of DHS.

Dr. Anderson, who graduated in 1967, played football and track and field for the Bulldogs.

The late Wayne Anderson, Dennis' brother, graduated in 1965. He participated in football, track, baseball and was a member of the state championship basketball team.

Ms. Kazmierczak graduated in 1998 and was an outstanding volleyball player.

Mr. Langston played basketball, football and baseball for the Bulldogs, graduating in 1979.

Mr. Moyer played baseball for DHS while later serving as a coach as well as the principal of the school.

“Miss Q” Quackenbush was a big-time booster, serving as athletic secretary at DHS for 19 of her 20 years at the school.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.